How To: Upload Practice Documents

To help eliminate the need for a separate file repository, TherapyNotes allows you to electronically share and store practice-wide documents such as service agreements and blank forms in your practice's Library. Any document uploaded to the Library is available to all users in the practice, and eligible documents may be shared with clients on TherapyPortal. For more information, read How To: Share Documents With Clients on TherapyPortal.

There is no additional charge for document storage and no limit on how many documents you can upload. All files uploaded to TherapyNotes are encrypted, and all file uploads, views, downloads, and updates are recorded in the  activity log.

Role Required: Practice Administrator

To prepare your documents for upload:

  • If you have the physical document, scan the document to create a digital file
  • Ensure the file size of the document is below 15MB
Quick Tip: To stay below the maximum file size of 15MB, we recommend scanning your document at no higher than 150 dpi. For more information, read  Tips for Scanning Documents and Reducing File Size.

To upload a practice-wide document:

  • Click Library
  • Click the Upload File button

(A) Document Name: Enter a name for your document. Remember that this name will be visible to all practice users.

(B) Date: The current date is automatically populated. However, you can enter a different date for the document.

(C) Portal: If the client portal is enabled for your practice, select Eligible for sharing through the client portal to make this document available for practice users to share with clients on TherapyPortal

(D) Requirements: If Eligible for sharing via client portal is selected, choose which actions a client is required to take when they receive this document from your practice. To request an electronic signature for the document when it is shared with clients, select E-sign: Request patient electronically sign document when shared. To request that your client complete the document and send it back to you through the portal, select Upload: Request patient upload completed document when shared. If clients simply need to review this document and take no further action, then leave both of these checkboxes blank.

(E) Access: If Eligible for sharing via client portal is selected, choose who can access this document when it has been shared with a client through the portal.

  • Click the Add Document button to save the document

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us