How To: Edit, Archive, and Delete Practice Documents

To ensure that users always have easy access to the most up-to-date practice documents, Practice Administrators can edit, archive, or delete existing documents in the Document Library.

Each time a Library document is edited, archived, or deleted, the activity is recorded in your practice's activity log, offering a powerful audit trail.

Role Required: Practice Administrator

To edit a Library document:

  • Click Library
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the corresponding document

  • Edit the Document NameDatePortal eligibility, or Signature requirement, or click the Replace File button to replace the current file with a newer version. If the document has been shared with clients on TherapyPortal, making any changes to the document will not affect any previous or existing document requests. Any edits to the document will be logged in the document's revision history.
  • Click the Save Changes button

To archive a Library document:

Note: Archiving a Library document will make the document inaccessible for all practice users except Practice Administrators. To view previously archived documents, click the Hiding Archived Documents link above the list of documents.

  • Click Library
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the document you want to archive
  • Click the Archive Document button
  • A warning dialog will appear to alert you that the document will no longer be visible to practice users who are not Practice Administrators. Click the Archive Document button.

To delete a Library document:

Note: Deleting a Library document will make the document inaccessible for all practice users.

  • Click Library
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the document you want to delete
  • Click the Delete Document link
  • A warning dialog will appear to alert you that the document will be permanently deleted. Click the Delete Document button.

Document Revisions

To view the list of document revisions:

  • Click Library
  • Click the History historyicon.png icon for the corresponding document

documentrevisions.png

In a document's revision history, Practice Administrators can view changes to the document over time and which user initiated those changes. Revisions are created each time a user uploads a document, replaces the file for a document, or edits the Document Name or Date.

If you need to delete a revision (for example, if you mistakenly replaced the existing document with the wrong file), click the grey  X next to the revision you wish to delete. Deleting a revision prevents future access to that revision. However, just like attempting to delete an entire Library document, a revision of a Library document cannot be deleted if it has been shared with a client.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us