Depending on your practice's settings, giving your clients access to your client portal allows them to conveniently request new appointments, easily view and manage existing appointments, join telehealth sessions, and review and sign documents that you share with them online.
TherapyNotes allows you to manage TherapyPortal access on a per-patient basis. Depending on the needs of the patient, you can invite either the patient or a caregiver (parent or legal guardian) to manage portal access. TherapyPortal also supports caregiver accounts that can manage multiple patients from a single login, making it easier to support families and dependent adults.
Invite a Patient or Caregiver to TherapyPortal
For security, verify the following in Patients > Patient name > Info tab:
- The patient has a Date of Birth on file. If not, click anywhere on the Patient Information box to edit, complete the Date of Birth and Email Address fields, and click the Save Changes button.
- The person receiving the invitation (patient or caregiver) has an email address on file.
If inviting a caregiver:
- The caregiver must first be listed as a Contact on the patient’s Info tab.
- If the caregiver is not already listed, add them manually or have the patient complete the Emergency and Other Contacts portal form.
Clients and caregivers must have both an email address and a date of birth on file in order to log in to the client portal.
To invite a client to sign up for your client portal:
- Click Patients > Patient name > Portal tab
- In the TherapyPortal Access panel, click the Grant Portal Access button.
- From the dropdown, select whether to invite the patient or an eligible caregiver
- Select the Grant Access button. This sends a client portal invitation to the selected patient or caregiver’s email address with a unique link to create an account.
Alternatively, if you would like to send documents through TherapyPortal before portal access has been set up, click Share Documents and prepare the documents you want to share. Doing this will automatically send a welcome email to the person who will be accessing the portal (the patient or an authorized proxy), and the documents you share will be available as soon as they sign up for their account. For more information, read Share Documents With Clients.
The date and time the welcome email was sent is visible under TherapyPortal Access. If there was a problem sending the welcome email, click the Resend Welcome Email button. This button will become active five minutes after the last email invitation was sent.
Client portal account creation
In order to create their account, the client or caregiver must verify the client’s identity by entering their date of birth. The date of birth entered during the account creation process must exactly match the date of birth associated with the client in TherapyNotes. Once a client or caregiver successfully creates an account for your client portal, the sign up date, last login information, and login email address for the client is visible under TherapyPortal Access.
Managing Existing Portal Accounts
- Full Access indicates the portal account belongs to the patient.
- Proxy Access indicates the portal account belongs to a caregiver or other authorized proxy who has been granted access to the patient's portal.
To reset a client's portal password:
- Click Patients > Patient name > Portal tab
- Under TherapyPortal Access, click the Reset Client's Portal Password button.
The client will receive an email with a link to reset their password. This link is only active for 24 hours.
To remove a client's access to the portal:
- Click Patients > Patient name > Portal tab
- Under TherapyPortal Access, click the Revoke Access link.
- A warning dialog will appear. Click the Revoke Access button.
Linking Multiple Clients to the Same Caregiver Account
One TherapyPortal caregiver account can manage multiple patients, such as when a parent or guardian has multiple children under their care.
If the same caregiver is listed as a contact for multiple patients, they can use a single TherapyPortal account to:
- Request appointments
- View appointments
- Complete portal forms
- Join telehealth sessions
- Access shared documents
To link multiple clients together in the same portal account, the clients must have the same email address on file in TherapyNotes. Once the portal account is created for one of the clients, other clients may be added to the account.
To add a client to an existing portal account:
- Verify that the clients you wish to link have the same email address on file.
- Click Patients > Patient name > Portal tab
- Under TherapyPortal Access, click the Grant Access button.
Once completed, the portal account will have access to request, view, and manage appointments for both clients. More clients can be added to the same portal account by repeating the steps above.
At any time, you may click the Revoke Access button to either remove that single client from the portal account, or click the Revoke Portal Access For All Patients option to remove all of the linked clients' access to the portal.
Viewing Portal Account Status on the Patients List
You can see which clients have active portal accounts on the Patients list, rather than going into individual charts to view the information. To view portal account status from the Patient list:
- Click the Patients tab.
- Enter a patient name in the Search field, or choose a clinician or payer from the Assigned to dropdown, and/or make a selection from the Filter dropdown.
- Click the Search button.
Results will appear in the table below the search section. The TherapyPortal column will indicate if the patient has an active portal account.
- A green check mark indicates the patient has an active portal account.
- A gray minus symbol indicates the patient does not have a portal account or their account is inactive.
- No symbol indicates there is no email address on file for the patient.