By default, each practice's Library includes an Emergency & Other Contacts Form which users can share with clients through TherapyPortal when document sharing is enabled. The Emergency & Other Contacts Form allows you to collect important contact information from your patients, including emergency contacts and other relevant individuals. Once a patient completes the form, the submitted information is saved in their TherapyNotes chart. With practice approval, the details provided can be automatically merged into the patient's chart for streamlined record-keeping.
Previewing the Emergency & Other Contacts Form
- Click Library > Portal Forms > Emergency and Other Contacts Form > Preview tab.
- Any user can preview this form in your practice’s Library. Any time the form is in Preview, you’ll see a blue banner stating, “This is a preview of the form, using fictional characters. You may interact with it, however, any information entered here will not be saved.”
Share the Emergency & Other Contacts Form with a Client:
- Click Patients > Patient name > Portal tab.
- In the Portal Requests and Shared Documents on Portal section, click the Share Documents button.
- The Share Documents on Portal dialog appears. Click or begin typing Emergency & Other Contacts Form with a client in the Select Library Documents to Share field.
- TherapyNotes will generate a list of possible matches as you type. Click on the form from this list to add it to the request.
- Add other documents to the request if desired, and enter Instructions for your request.
- Click the Send Document Request button.
Once your request is sent, your client will receive an email notification informing them there is paperwork that is ready for them to complete.
You can share the same form with a client as many times as needed. However, if you want to share the form with a client again before they have completed the initial request, you must first cancel the initial request before sending the form again. For more information on sharing documents with your clients, read Share Documents With Clients on TherapyPortal.
After your client has submitted their completed form, you'll receive a reminder on your To-Do list to Process portal responses.
Process a Completed Form
- Click To-Do > Portal tab > Document Requests
- Click the Needs Processing link to the right of the form in the Status column, or click the form name.
- This opens a page that includes the information your client entered in the form on the left side of the page and editable fields that correspond with the Contacts section of their patient Info tab on the right side.
- To fill in their Contacts section with information that the client entered, click the arrow
next to the corresponding field or click the Merge All button at the bottom of the form to use all of the information the patient entered. You can undo merged information by clicking the undo icon
next to the field that you merged.
- If the submitted contact matches an existing Practice Contact linked to the patient, only the Relationship and Contact Type fields are available to merge. Contact information managed by your practice, such as the contact's name and contact details, remains unchanged on the patient’s end.
- If the submitted contact is identified as a potential match for an existing Practice Contact, a blue banner appears asking you to confirm whether the submitted contact is the same person as the existing Practice Contact or a new contact. Click Same Person to link the patient to the existing Practice Contact, or click New Person to create a new contact instead.
- Enter or merge any changes into the form on the right as necessary and click the Save Patient Info button. Or, click the Mark as Processed button if you would not like to save any changes to patient information
By saving any changes made to Contacts in this process, the Contacts section of the client's Info tab is updated automatically.