How To: Manage Client Portal Access

Follow

Depending on your practice's settings, giving your clients access to your client portal allows them to conveniently request new appointments and easily view and manage existing appointments. TherapyNotes allows you to easily manage client portal access on a per-client basis directly from each client's chart. Inviting your clients to your practice's client portal, resetting portal passwords, and revoking portal access are as simple as a few clicks.

Role Required: Practice Scheduler, Clinical Administrator, Clinician, Intern, or Supervisor

Before giving a client access to your practice's client portal, click Patients > Patient Name > Patient Info tab and verify that the client has a date of birth and email address on file. If not, click anywhere on the Patient Information box to edit, complete the Date of Birth and Email Address fields, and click the Save Changes button.

To invite a client to sign up for your client portal:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Portal tab

welcomeemail.png

  • Under Client Portal Access, click the Send Welcome Email button. This sends an client portal invitation to the client's email address with a unique link to create an account
Quick Tip: You can view a sample of the Welcome Email your clients receive in your Client Portal Settings. Click the User Icon > Settings > Client Portal, scroll to the section labeled Welcome Email, and click either the Send Sample Welcome Email or Preview Welcome Email buttons.
  • A confirmation dialog will appear. Click OK

The date and time the Welcome Email was sent is visible under Client Portal Access. If there was a problem sending the Welcome Email, click the Resend Welcome Email button. This button will become active five minutes after the last email invitation was sent.

Once a client successfully creates an account for your client portal, the sign up date, last login information, and login email address for the client is visible under Client Portal Access.

Managing Existing Portal Accounts

To reset a client's portal password:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Portal tab
  • Under Client Portal Access, click the Reset Client's Portal Password button
  • A confirmation dialog will appear. Click OK

The client will receive an email with a link to reset their password. This link is only active for 24 hours.

To remove a client's access to the portal:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Portal tab
  • Under Client Portal Access, click the Remove Client's Access button
  • A warning dialog will appear. Click the Remove Access button

Linking Multiple Clients to the Same Portal Account

One portal account may be used to manage appointments for multiple clients, such as when a parent or guardian has multiple children under their care. To link multiple clients together in the same portal account, the clients must have the same email address on file in TherapyNotes. Once the portal account is created for one of the clients, other clients may be added to the account.

To add a portal user to an existing portal account:

  • Verify that the clients you wish to link have the same email address on file
  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Portal tab

linkaccounts.png

  • Under Client Portal Access, click the Link Patient to Portal Account button

Once completed, the portal account will have access to request, view, and manage appointments for both clients. More clients can be added to the same portal account by repeating the steps above.

At any time, you may click the Remove Client's Access to This Patient button to remove that single client from the portal account, or click the Remove Client's Access to All Patients to remove all of the linked clients' access to the portal.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Sera Lavelle

    I don't see a "Reset Client's Portal Password" button

  • Avatar
    Sean Behan

    Hi Sera,

    The reset button only appears once the client has completed the portal registration. You will then be able to click PATIENTS > Patient Name > Patient Info tab. In the bottom left, in the Client Portal Access section, you will see two buttons. One is to reset the client's portal password, and the other is to remove portal access. Please let us know if you have any other questions. Thank you.