How Do I Change Patient Permissions to Give a Clinician Access to a Patient?

Follow

For a tutorial on the topic, see Assign Clinicians to Patients (Tutorial)

In order for a Clinician to view or create notes for a patient, they must be assigned permissions for that patient. This can always be done by the Clinical Administrator. It can also be done by any Clinician who already has access to that patient (equivalent to that Clinician sharing their records). Permissions can be added by viewing the "Clinicians" tab on the patient's chart.

To grant permissions: Click PATIENTS > "Clinicians" tab > Select a Clinician from the "Assign a Clinician" dropdown > Click the green "Save Permissions" button. From this same tab, you can click the gray "X" next to a Clinician to remove their access to that patient. Only Clinical Administrators can perform this task.

When an appointment is created for a patient who has not yet been assigned to any Clinician, the Clinician selected for the appointment is automatically given access to the patient, regardless of who created the appointment. It is extremely common for a Scheduler to create appointments for new patients, therefore it is practical for the first scheduled Clinician to automatically have this access.

If a Clinician is scheduled to see a pre-existing patient that they did not already have access to, the Clinician must then be granted access by a Clinical Administrator or another Clinician with access to that patient. This occurs automatically if a Clinical Administrator or a Clinician with access to the patient creates the appointment themselves.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Suzanne Marshall

    I do not see a Remove Access Link. Where is that located?

  • Avatar
    Jordan

    Suzanne,

    Please go into the patient and click on their clinician tab. In here you will be able to remove the clinician from the patient. Please let me know if you have any questions. Thank you!

  • Avatar
    Bernadette Bennett

    I do not see a permission tab in the client profile. Is this because the clinical admin has denied that access to me? Or am I looking in the wrong spot? When I click on a client's name that is assigned to me, the tabs I see are "to do and schedule, patient information, patient billing, billing settings, notes, clinicians." thank you in advance for your help

  • Avatar
    Jordan

    Bernadette.

    To view this tab you would need to have the role of Clinical admin as well as the role of Clinician. In your account you were given the role of Intern and scheduler. Please let me know if you have any questions. Thank you!

  • Avatar
    Stephanie Skinner

    I am the clinical administrator and still can't find the tab you are referencing.

  • Avatar
    Laura

    Stephanie,

    I apologize. Some of the information in this article needs updating. The tab in the patient's chart is located through the following pathway: PATIENTS > Click patient > "Clinicians" tab. Select the clinician from the dropdown, then click the blue "+Add Assignment" button. Next, click the green "Save Permissions" button.

  • Avatar
    Christina Hann

    How do you delete a clinician once they have been added?

  • Avatar
    Jordan

    Christina,

    To make a user inactive, Click STAFF > Click staff user > "Information" tab, Click anywhere on the "User Information" box to open it for editing.Change "Status" drop-down to "Inactive". Click "Save Changes".

    The user can no longer log in to TherapyNotes, but all of their files remain within your account. If the user was a clinician or intern, you will no longer be charged for them.

  • Avatar
    Christina Hann

    I want to delete an assigned clinician that is assigned to a patient and NOT make the clinician inactive. For example, a client has two of our clinicians assigned and I only want one of those two to remain. How do I remove one of the assigned clinicians from that patient profile?

  • Avatar
    Stephanie Skinner

    I still have the same question as Christina. I want to delete an assigned clinician for one client. I do Not want to render that clinician inactive.

  • Avatar
    Jordan

    Only a clinical administrator may unassign clinicians from patients. Please have your clinical admin go to the patient and click on the "clinicians" tab, on the far right click on "remove clinician", once removed click on "Save Permissions".

    If you have any questions please contact support at 215-658-4550 or via email at support@therapynotes.com

  • Avatar
    Stephanie Skinner

    Still the same issue. There is not a 'remove clinician' tab.  Has anyone in the community figured this out?

    Edited by Stephanie Skinner
  • Avatar
    Jordan

    Stephanie,

    As per our phone call you now have the clinical admin role which allows you to remove the clinician from the client chart. If you require further assistance please call support at 215-658-4550 or via email at support@therapynotes.com