How To: Edit and Delete Client Documents

Follow

To ensure that documents in a client's chart are organized, accurate, and up-to-date, TherapyNotes allows you to edit or delete client documents.

If you're planning to delete documents in a client's chart, keep in mind that document storage in TherapyNotes is included with your subscription, and there's no limit on how many documents you can store.

Each time a document in a client's chart is uploaded, edited, or deleted, the activity is recorded in your practice's activity log to provide you with a powerful audit trail.

Role Required: Any

Note: Only Clinical Administrators and Clinicians (for assigned patients) can edit or delete documents marked as Clinical.

To edit a document in a client's chart:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Documents tab
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the corresponding document

editclientdocument.png

  • Edit the TypeDocument Name, or Date
  • Click the Save Changes button

To delete a document in a client's chart:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Documents tab
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the corresponding document
  • Click the Delete Document link
  • A warning will appear to confirm that you want to permanently delete this file. Click the Delete Document button
Quick Tip: Just as you would not shred documents from a paper chart without good reason, you should also exercise care when deciding to delete client files. If you want to delete client documents to clear space in the client's chart or make more crucial documents easier to find, consider using the Showing All Notes and Files link above the list of documents to filter which documents are visible.

Please note that deleting a document that was sent to the client on TherapyPortal will also remove this client's access to the document. If the document was signed by the client, deleting the document will also delete the record of their signature.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments