How To: Edit, Archive, and Delete Practice Documents

Follow

To ensure that users always have easy access to the most up-to-date practice documents, Practice Administrators can edit, archive, or delete existing documents in the Document Library.

Each time a Library document is edited, archived, or deleted, the activity is recorded in your practice's activity log, offering a powerful audit trail.

Role Required: Practice Administrator

To edit a Library document:

  • Click Library
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the corresponding document

editdocument.png

  • Edit the Document Name or Date, or click the Replace File button to replace the current file with a newer version. Any edits to the document will be logged in the document's revision history
  • Click the Save Changes button

To archive a Library document:

Note: Archiving a Library document will make the document inaccessible for all practice users except Practice Administrators. To view previously archived documents, click the Hiding Archived Documents link above the list of documents.

  • Click Library
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the document you want to archive
  • Click the Archive Document button
  • A warning dialog will appear to alert you that the document will no longer be visible to practice users who are not Practice Administrators. Click the Archive Document button

To delete a Library document:

Note: Deleting a Library document will make the document inaccessible for all practice users.

  • Click Library
  • Click the Edit editicon.png icon for the document you want to delete
  • Click the Delete Document link
  • A warning dialog will appear to alert you that the document will be permanently deleted. Click the Delete Document button

Document Revisions

To view the list of document revisions:

  • Click Library
  • Click the History historyicon.png icon for the corresponding document

documentrevisions.png

In a document's revision history, Practice Administrators can view changes to the document over time and which user initiated those changes. Revisions are created each time a user uploads a document, replaces the file for a document, or edits the Document Name or Date.

If you need to delete a revision (for example, if you mistakenly replaced the existing document with the wrong file), click the grey X next to the revision you wish to delete. Deleting a revision prevents future access to that revision.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments