How To: View, Edit, and Delete Existing Notes

Follow

All TherapyNotes users have access to create specific types of notes and view or edit the notes they have created. Additionally, clinicians assigned to the same client will have the ability to view each other's notes, allowing for easy collaboration of care.

Each time a note is accessed or edited, the activity is recorded in the Activity Log for your practice. This powerful audit trail is a distinct security and privacy advantage over paper charts.

Role Required: Any

Note: The notes you have access to depend on your role in TherapyNotes. To learn more, read How To: Create a Note.

To view an existing note:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Documents tab

notesandfiles.png

  • In the section labeled Notes and Files for this Patient, click the hyperlinked Note Type OR click the View viewicon.png icon for the note you want to view

To edit an existing note:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Documents tab
  • In the section labeled Notes and Files for this Patient, click the Edit editicon.png icon for the note you want to edit

Whenever a note is edited and saved, the revision is archived and accessible in the Revision History for the note. To access a note's Revision History, view the note and click the Revision History link in the bottom right corner of the note. Click on the hyperlinked date and time of the revision to access a previous version of the note.

To delete an existing note:

Note: Only Clinical Administrators or users with the role of both Practice Administrator and Clinician (for assigned patients only) can delete notes.

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Documents tab
Quick Tip: Deleting a note is permanent. Before proceeding, we recommend downloading the note to a secure location on your computer. To learn more, read How To: Download and Print Notes.
  • In the section labeled Notes and Files for this Patient, click the Edit editicon.png icon for the note you want to delete
  • Click the Delete Note link in the bottom right corner of the note
  • A warning dialog will appear to alert you that the note will be permanently deleted. If there are multiple versions of the note in Revision History, select Delete this note completely or Delete only this revision to the note, reverting the note to the previous signed revision
  • Click the Delete button
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments