How to Allow Camera and Microphone Access for Telehealth

In order to use TherapyNotes Telehealth, your web browser needs to have access to your camera and microphone. This is what allows the other participant in a video call to see and hear you. Typically, you may only need to explicitly allow access to your camera and microphone once, but the following instructions outline how to ensure TherapyNotes can access your camera and microphone in each major browser.

Google Chrome

By default, Google Chrome remembers when you've allowed a website to access your camera or microphone. As such, your browser shouldn't ask you for access after your first telehealth session. However, if you've accidentally blocked TherapyNotes from accessing your camera or microphone in Chrome, you can follow these steps to allow access the next time.

  • Click the three vertical dots in the upper right corner of Chrome.
  • Click Settings.
  • Under Privacy and security, click Site Settings.
  • Click Camera or Microphone.
  • Under Block, find https://www.therapynotes.com and click the trashcan icon.

For additional information about using a camera and microphone in Chrome, visit the Google Chrome Help Center.

Apple Safari on Mac

By default, Safari requires you to allow a website to access your camera or microphone each time it is requested. However, once you start a telehealth session and allow access to your camera and microphone in Safari initially, you can follow these steps to allow access for all subsequent telehealth sessions.

  • Click the video camera icon to the right of the www.therapynotes.com URL in your address bar.
  • In the Camera and Microphone popup that appears, click Always Allow on "www.therapynotes.com".

For additional information about changing your website preferences in Safari on Mac, visit the Safari User Guide.

Apple Safari on iPad and iPhone

On iPad and iPhone, Safari requires you to confirm camera and microphone access each time it is requested by a website. This means that you'll have to allow access each time you arrive at the dialog to select your camera and microphone as well as when you begin the video call. There isn't a workaround that we recommend for this at this time.

If you accidentally deny access to your camera or microphone in Safari on iPad or iPhone, simply refresh the page and attempt to start the telehealth session again.

If the browser doesn't request permission to access your camera and microphone, verify that you have not blocked all websites from accessing your camera and microphone in your settings.

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap Safari.
  • Under Settings for Websites, tap Camera or Microphone.
  • For Camera, confirm that Camera Access on All Websites is set to Ask.
  • For Microphone, confirm that Microphone Access on All Websites is set to Ask.

Microsoft Edge

Like Chrome, Microsoft Edge remembers when you've allowed a website to access your camera or microphone. As such, your browser shouldn't ask you for access after your first telehealth session. However, if you've accidentally blocked TherapyNotes from accessing your camera or microphone in Edge, you can follow these steps to allow access the next time.

  • Click the three horizontal dots in the upper right corner of Edge.
  • Click Settings.
  • In the Settings sidebar on the left, click Site permissions.
  • Click Camera or Microphone.
  • Under Block, find https://www.therapynotes.com and click the trashcan icon.

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Firefox offers the option to always allow a website to access your camera and microphone the first time access is requested. When you click the Start Telehealth Session button to initiate a telehealth session in Firefox, a popup will appear to request access to your camera and microphone. When that popup appears, follow these steps to always allow access.

  • Verify that the camera and microphone shown in the popup are the devices you want to allow access to.
  • Select the Remember this decision checkbox.
  • Click Allow.

For additional information about using a camera and microphone in Firefox, visit Firefox Support.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us