How To: Undo Client Balance Write-off

Client balances may be erroneously written off for a number of reasons. For instance, you may receive an explanation of benefits that indicates that the client has a copay when there was previously none. Other times, you may have simply written off a balance by mistake.

Whatever the reason, undoing a write-off requires only a few steps: reset the amount due, then enter the correct amount owed.

Role Required: Practice Biller or Biller for Assigned Patients Only

To undo a write-off for a client balance:

  • Click Patients > Patient Name > Patient Billing tab
  • In the section labeled Search Billing Transactions, select All Items from the filter options
  • Click the date of service for the balance that has been written off

undowriteoff.png

  • Enter 0 into the Pt Amt (in-network payers), Coverage (out-of-network payers), or Rate (direct pay) field
  • Click the Save Changes button
  • Click the date of service again
  • Enter the correct amount in the Pt Amt, Coverage, or Rate field
  • Click the Save Changes button

The client will again have an open balance for the date of service. For next steps, read How To: Enter Client Payments or How To: Create and Apply Unassigned Credit.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us